A very exciting change is coming to our store! Check back as we will be going live soon.

The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)
The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)
The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)
The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)
The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)

The Giving Tree (2nd Grade: Series 1)

Regular price
Sale price


The Giving Tree is a parable about a boy’s interactions, over the course of his lifetime, with a tree that gives of itself in many ways throughout the years. The module invites students to consider acts of giving and receiving. Students will explore the artistry of trees and create their own tree art using oil pastels. They’ll discover through yoga how to tap into their feelings and strike poses, such as the tree pose. With the power of observation and the aid of magnifying glasses, this module investigates what trees can provide. Students learn that sometimes we can observe what trees give, but sometimes not.

Before you begin...

Each Artful Reading Module is flexibly designed for a 2-3 week duration. Lessons are marked for Before-, During-, or After-Reading to guide your planning. We have added a sample of an After Reading lesson entitled Vocabulary Trees for you to preview.  Each lesson is designed in an easy to read format, with standards, materials needed, and step-by-step directions to ensure you are fully prepared when it’s time to deliver. 

This module contains the following lessons:

  • Tree Exploration
  • Leaf Rubbing
  • How Trees Provide
  • Different Ways of Giving
  • Beginning, Middle, End
  • Types of Trees
  • I Am Yoga
  • Vocabulary Trees
  • Comparing Texts
  • Tree Art

At the end of the module, you’ll find options for summative writing tasks and optional extensions that can stretch the module further.

Standards Matrix

For your reference, we have added images of the literacy standards matrix for this module. 

Key Vocabulary

Giving, Gather, Crowns, Forest, Trunk, Branches, Roots, Shade, Joy, Weak, Stump, Climb

Note: This module is part of 2nd Grade: Series 1. The four modules in Series 1 collectively address all National ELA and Core Arts Standards.