Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)
Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)
Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)
Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)
Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)

Tikki Tikki Tembo (2nd Grade)

Regular price
Sale price

Tikki Tikki Tembo is the retelling of a Chinese folktale about the naming of a firstborn child. Two sons, the eldest with a lengthier name, fall into a well at separate times. The second born son with the shorter name is able to make a fairly easy escape, all due to the brevity of his name, while the older son is much more challenging to rescue.

During this module, students will utilize design thinking as they construct safe wells. Students will also have the opportunity to learn about diverse cultures through supplemental texts and research. Students will be able to extend their learning by discovering more about themselves and their families.

Before you begin...
Each Artful Reading is flexibly designed for a 2-3 week duration. Lessons are marked for Before-, During-, or After-Reading to guide your planning. We have added a sample of a Before-Reading lesson entitled Rhythm of the Beat for you to preview. Each lesson is formatted on a Teacher Lesson Card so you have all the information you need at your fingertips when it’s time to deliver.

This module contains the following Teacher Lesson Cards:

  • The History of My Name
  • Background Knowledge
  • Rhythm of the Beat
  • Vocabulary Discoveries
  • Retold by…
  • Curious Questioning
  • Folktales and Poetry
  • Design Thinking
  • My Own Chinese Name
  • Connected Texts
  • Family Tree Art

At the end of this module, you will find options for summative writing tasks and optional extension tasks that can stretch the module further.

Standards Matrix

For your reference, we have added images of the literacy standards matrix for this module. 

Key Vocabulary

Well, Stream, Custom, Honorable, Chattering, Troublesome, Heir, Reverence, Bewitched, Rhythm, Steady Beat, Folktale

Note: This module is part of 2nd Grade: Series 1. The four modules in Series 1 collectively address all National ELA and Core Arts Standards.